a new year…a new look

This past fall was extremely busy for me – school just consumed most of my “free” time, leaving little room for anything else, much less knitting. My course this year was one that I needed as an elective, for which I had to write a major paper (“major” consisting of 30-35 pages of research). The paper turned out to be 31 pages and while there were some criticisms of the paper itself, I managed a B+ on it, which I am happy to receive.

Just 4 more classes to go. *sigh*

My knitting this past year was more productive than usual. I started the year by having major knee surgery and couldn’t drive for 4 months. While it was really frustrating, it provided a ton of knitting time. I started the year by making 2 versions of the Follow Your Arrow shawl by designer Ysolda Teague, one of my favorite designers. She went far and above my expectations for fabulous design by writing a pattern that could be knit in 32 different ways. I knit two of them and gave them away to women who helped me with transportation needs during 2014Q1.

I then finished a shawl for me, one that I had started in November 2013. It was the second time I had knit the Sunset shawl and I decided to make one modification: make it bigger. You need a little perspective here. The original pattern called for 3 skeins of Malabrigo Rios yarn. By the time I finished the three skeins I knew I needed more yarn so I purchased 2 more. And by the time I finished those, I still needed more yarn. Six skeins total to finish this shawl. Let’s just add that I really don’t want to do another cable pattern for a very, very long time. ๐Ÿ™‚ The biggest, uh, challenge with purchasing skeins of yarn this way is that the Malabrigos company only dyes yarn in lots of 10. This means that unless you order all your yarn at the same time, chances are the dye lots won’t match. They certainly didn’t match with my shawl. While noticeable, it worked out okay. You can definitely tell where the new yarn was purchased, but it works. At least that’s what I tell myself.

So, what’s in store for 2015? I don’t like to make resolutions, but I would like to set some goals. Here they are:

  1. Finish the project for one of my drivers – I’m currently about 8 rows shy of being finished, so I think this one is a done deal.
  2. Finish another project for the last of my drivers. I have messed the lace up a tad, so it will take some repair work to get back on track, but I think finishing is also quite possible.
  3. My sister has requested a “fashionable” cowl, so I will have to fulfill that request before next winter.
  4. Finally, I have an idea for a shawl for my Aunt. I think I finally enticed her to let me knit something for her. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love looking at patterns!
  5. To make progress on my first ever sweater. I can’t make any promises as to how finished it will be by the end of the year, but I will plug away on it steadily. Someday I will wear it.

Well, that’s it for my knitting goals. Quite modest and I think doable. What are your goals for 2015?

