and another shawl is d.o.n.e.

I finished the last repeat last night at 7 PM and by 8PM I had the thing blocking.

Here is what it looked like before:

IMG_1102

Notice that you can’t see the lacework in the middle brown section? That’s because lace needs to be opened up by blocking. Blocking is not difficult but it can be time consuming. First, you have to do this:

IMG_1103

Let it soak for about 30 minutes. I add a little bit of Woolite just to soften things up a little.

While it is blocking it looks like this:

IMG_1104

Notice how much bigger the shawl looks? And you can see the lacework on the bottom half of the shawl. This one didn’t turn out as big as I had thought it would – I had a fair amount of yarn left over. But it is still a decent size. I’ll take a pic of me with it on tomorrow when I take it off the wires.

Now I get to chose a new project! Yipee!

