fumbles and foibles

Has it really been more than two months since I’ve written here? Wow. Not to say that I’ve been totally slacking – I haven’t, really, but I’ve certainly had the time and have ignored the blog. But not any more! I have a lot of updating to do, so let’s get with it.

Personal Things

I slipped at work on December 23rd – and that has really been the biggest reason why I haven’t been writing. The damage is that I tore my quadriceps tendon, something that I don’t recommend you do. You can read more about it here, though I suspect that just knowing that the surgeon had to drill holes into my knee cap and basically sew the tendon to the knee cap so that scar tissue could form, thus reattaching the tendon to the knee cap will be enough for you. The end result will be that the thread or whatever they use to reattach things inside the body will be there permanently and my range of motion will be diminished slightly, but that I should be able to resume my rather sedentary life as normal. The downside is that, naturally, I had promised myself that I would make my life be less sedentary, so who knows how all this will shake down in the end. I am 7 weeks post-op today and have 1.5 therapy sessions under my belt, so things are progressing – albeit slowly.

Knitting Project #1 News:

I am currently working on another Sunset shawl, this time for myself. You can see the previous one on blocking wires here. I’m making mine in a deep red/green/umber colorway. The key thing to remember (for all you knitters out there) is that when you buy yarn for a project – BUY ALL OF IT AT ONCE! I purchased 2 skeins – completely forgetting that the pattern called for three – and then I decided to make the shawl a little larger than the pattern (which requires more yarn) I purchased 2 additional skeins. Well, I’m on the 4th skein now and, well, let’s just say that things aren’t going to work out. I now have 2 options. Either frog the whole thing or buy more yarn. The first option is too heartbreaking to contemplate, so we’ll ignore that one for now. The problem with the second option is the chance for the colorway to match the first two purchases is slim. (Please note however, that even though I did make 2 different purchases and received 2 different dye lots, I was *very* lucky in that they nearly matched. But the chances of that happening again are very, very slim.) So I sucked it up and made the purchase, because, like I said, option #1 is off the table, and, well, not a very close match was made. It may be workable – but it will take some finagling. And because I get, how shall we put this, exasperated with projects like this one, I’ve placed it in time out.

Here’s a picture of it anyway:

IMG_0966

Moving on.

Knitting Project #2 News:

While Project #1 was on its way to time out (for an undisclosed period of time, I might add), I somehow stumbled upon a Mystery Shawl Knit-A-Long by Ysolda Teague, one of my favorite designers. She is one of those types of designers that can write a pattern and then tell out how to adjust it to your body shape. Amazing. Anyway, this MKAL (as they are known) is called Follow Your Arrow. The way the MKALs work is you receive parts of the pattern at certain intervals (in this case weekly) but you don’t know what the final product will look like until you’re done. The very interesting thing that Ysolda did was for each of the clues, there were 2 options you could choose, and each of the 2 options worked with whichever option you chose in the clue before and whichever option you chose for the clue after – making a total of 32 different possibilities. Wow. Does that take planning or what? I ended up with a BABAA – a shawl that was totally symmetrical. Here is the final product:

FYA_BABAA

This was knit for a woman named Heather who has gone way out of her way to provide me with transportation during this “trying time”. She lives about 12 miles south of me and yet she will drive up and pick me up for church on Sunday – at 7 AM – drop me off and then go back home and then return to church for service at 10. Is that a special gift, of what? I am very thankful that she wants to do this – it sure beats taking the taxi, standing on the train platform, riding the train and then having to be picked up at the other end. Anyway, she is dear and I wanted to make something special for her.

Don’t worry – for all of you who are participating in the “let’s take Tonja somewhere today” round robin, your turn is coming. Just let me do this in my own way and in my own time because I want to. Okay?

On that note, I can’t show you project #3, but there is one in the works. 🙂

So, that’s just about caught up with me. Sorry that it’s taken so long to get back to this, but when your life is turned upside down, well, everything gets turned around.

