knitting decisions

I started a new project a few weeks ago – knitting another version of the Sunset Shawl, but for me this time. I’m using the same yarn that I used before and the same needles. For some reason the fabric was coming out too dense for my taste. Which is very weird, because I’m doing the exact same thing. So after 2 days of knitting I ended up frogging the whole thing and starting over with larger needles. Non-knitters just don’t realize all the little decisions that go into knitting something: the weight of the yarn (how thick or thin it is), the size needle, the fiber content – all of these things impact each and every knitted object. It is mind-boggling sometimes.

But now that I’ve been going “round 2” with this  for a few days, I really like the fabric much better, so I’m glad I ripped it out and started over. It’s hard to make those decisions sometimes, but I’m glad I did this time. I’ll post a picture soon.

