passengers

I long for the day when I can simply be a passenger on a long distance driving trip. Passengers get to knit while the car is in motion. I *so* long for that.

This last week was very difficult for me and my family. My sole remaining grandmother, Meme, passed away last Sunday (October 27th). Most people wonder why I choose to drive to Louisiana. The problem is that Monroe/West Monroe is not an easy place to get to. If I were to take a train, it would only take me as far as Jackson, MS, which means that I would still have to get in a car and drive for another 2-2.5 hours. Flying would cost upwards of $400 and I would have to fly to either Atlanta or Dallas first and then take the puddle jumper to Monroe. Even at 14 hours drive time, it is still nearly the fastest way to travel to Monroe, and it is definitely the cheapest way to go. Total gas cost: $175.

A couple of good things came out of last week. One, Meme is no longer in any pain or discomfort. I’ve actually been praying for this day to come. Two, I got to spend time with family, which is always nice. Third, I got to see, if only for a few minutes, M and L and Bug.

Lastly, while I didn’t get much knitting time in, I was able to have Olivia try on her poncho. I think she liked the progress so far. 🙂

2 thoughts on “passengers

  1. Mom says:

    We are so glad you were able to make the trip. How did Olivia like her poncho? I am also VERY VERY glad to see an entry here!!!

Comments are closed.