trudging through lace

I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been ill (I guess you already know that!), so I haven’t been knitting. But now that I’m feeling better, I’ve got some fire in my belly for knitting…mainly because I know that it is going to be cold here soon.

I’m still working on the Artemis shawl:

Artemis0606_medium

This one here – although I am much further along than in this picture. This is a shawl designed by the Fickle Knitter, a woman I met (and had autograph my book) at the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival in May. I’m using a different weight yarn and a different needle, making me drastically increase the number of repeats…and that is what I’m trudging through right now.

But, I checked the WEBS website on Friday (they sell Malabrigo yarn, that wonderfully soft and luxurious Merino yarn…scrumptious!) and THEY HAD MY YARN IN STOCK! They’ve been out of scads of Malabrigo yarn for ages and ages. So this is what I purchased on Friday:

RIOSMALABR_VOLCAN_zoom_1

Isn’t this yarn so NOT typical of me? I’m going to knit the Sunset shawl again (the one I knit for my mother earlier this year) but in this colorway…which is really more indicative of a Sunset than the grey that I knit my mom’s in. I’m so excited….

