12: a reflection

AnniversaryDateToday, July 19th, is my 12-year anniversary here in Chicagoland. I seriously can’t believe it has been 12 entire years since I moved here – without a job, without a church, without friends. I have to say that these last 12 years have been the best 12 years of my life.

My decisions for moving were numerous and complicated, but one of the main reasons for moving was so that I could have the freedom to become the person that I believed God was calling me to be. I have not been disappointed. He has transformed me in ways beyond my imagining!

One of the biggest blessings in my life – and I seriously don’t know how I would have survived these last 12 years with out them – are the H’s. Michael and Lori are the younger brother and older sister that I never had. They have been my one constant these last 12 years and I love them dearly. Their son, Keaton, is such a great kid and I am so honored that they continue to invite me into their lives.

I’ve also had the privilege of working for two excellent organizations: Trinity International University and Lake Forest College. Five years and going on 7 years respectively. Fifteen years ago I was faced with the need to get a master’s degree and felt God nudging me in the direction of technology. Never a moment of regret since. I love what I do for a living and I’m fairly decent at what I do. And I’m thankful for the skills and opportunities that God has equipped me with.

Of course, I’ve also picked up new skills. Namely knitting skills. 🙂 I picked up knitting from Joanna in 2005 and have become obsessed with everything regarding the craft. Everything. But you all know all about it – just read my blog. Or ask Kate or Marylin. They know and understand this obsession.

But one of the most fundamental and amazing roads I have been travelling these last 12 years is studying at Trinity. When I felt that my life was falling apart (my so-called 19 months of hell from December 1999 – June 2001), I decided that if I was going to call myself a Christian, I needed to fully understand what that meant. I wanted to understand the theology, the history and the significance of the bible in my life and I wanted to understand what makes Christianity “right”. I may not have totally arrived at all of this figuring out just yet, but I am many miles closer. It has been an amazing journey.

2 thoughts on “12: a reflection

  1. Mom says:

    Wow!!! I think you actually posted while I was/am on your site! Did you just change something? It looks different. Is your math correct. Has it really been 12 years? Time is flying.

  2. Lori says:

    You will always be part of our family (dysfuntction and all!!). We love you and are blessed to have you in our lives.

Comments are closed.