I’m alive!

Wow, it’s been, like, more than a month since my last post…sorry about that! Just so much going on…I don’t even know where to start.

I spent a week in Orlando for a conference…had some good times catching up with “those faceless people of the listservs” and finally seeing them face-to-face. I’ve worked hard in the last year to be more visible on the listservs (for those don’t know what a listserv is, it is a community for people to ask questions and receive quick responses. Most schools that use Jenzabar as their student administrative system also participate on the listservs, so there could be hundreds people who have faced similar questions and are eager to share their knowledge. Ask me more sometime if this description doesn’t make sense.) I also got to see a former co-worker and have dinner with him…which was cool. The great thing I’ve discovered about Higher Ed is that every school (much like every family) is dysfunctional. We may *think* things are better at other schools…but you really don’t know how good you got it until you leave. I think that’s Colin’s situation. Here’s a pic:

Colin_May2013

It was the first time I’d ever seen him in a shirt and tie.  Very snazzy….

So after I got back from the conference I’ve been preparing for my 2 summer classes – I say 2 classes because technically they are two different classes, but they really act as one course. They have to be taken concurrently, unfortunately. I had class on June 19th and 20th, of which I worked half days, and then the 24th – 27th for which I took off the whole day. I’m really glad that I did, cause man-o-man was I busy during those days! My life was literally consumed with sleep, study and school, and to be honest, there wasn’t much sleep going on, either. In my perfect world I would go to bed around 8:30 PM, read until 9:30 PM and get up at 5 AM. This week I was going to bed around 11 and getting up between 4 and 4:30 just to get all the homework done. Class was from 8 – 12:15 every day, so that should give you  an indication of the amount of work I had to do. But the good news is that IT. IS. DONE.

And the brings the total # of courses left to finish before I graduate to…. (drum roll please……)

5!

One Systematic Theology, Evangelism, Acts & Pauline literature, Gospels & Johannine Literature and Cultural Hermeneutics. One hand. I can count them on one… hand! 🙂

I still have 2 major papers to write (as part of the research track that I’m on) and my internship, but I am so close that I’m happy. Very happy.

In knitterly news, I haven’t done much, sadly.

But in planting news, the flowers I planted on my front porch are still alive! These be they…

PottedFlowers

Now that I’m not going anywhere for a while and I don’t have class again until late August, I should be able to knit more and post more.

It’s good to be back!

 

One thought on “I’m alive!

Comments are closed.