the art of frogging

Since I finished the Sunset and now have some time for a new project, I thought I would go through my WIP bin (work in progress). I was itching for a lace project and – whoopee – I found this:

IMG_0288

It is a wonderful sky-blue (which does not show up AT ALL in these photos) cotton and it looks as though I’ve already done a fair amount of knitting on it. If memory serves, I was getting that pattern down well and was rocking and rolling on it.

So I pulled out the pattern (that you can see in the top part of that image) and was trying to figure out where I had left off. I’m usually very good about marking my place and counting rows and such, thankfully. I was re-reading the instructions and then it dawned on me. Something was wrong. Here is a black and white of what the shawl *should* look like:

IMG_0290

Can you spot the problem? No? Let me show you:

comparison

Hm…see it now? Yes, I appear to be missing a section. I have absolutely no idea how this happened. None. I counted the stitches on each side of my shawl and they exactly match – exactly, mind you – the count of where I indicated on the pattern that I had left off. Really, I don’t know what happened. I’m sure that I was knitting this pattern – I’m sure I have the correct pattern in mind and what I had knit really does look like the top part of this shawl. I just don’t know what happened to the third part.

*sigh* This is what happens, people, when you start a project and then let it linger for, oh, six months or more. Don’t Let This Happen To You! Finish those WIPs!

I even had a lovely little lifeline inserted where I had left off:

lifeline

*sigh* Oh well.

Rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrripit……….rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrripit

IMG_0292

Rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrripit……rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrripit

IMG_0293

oops…tangle.

This is NOT what you are supposed to do when you frog – it took me a while to get that one worked out, but in the end, the whole thing got frogged.

IMG_0294

The only good thing about this process last night is now I get to go in search for a new pattern! Yey! And it feels as though I just purchased new yarn – bonus!

4 thoughts on “the art of frogging

  1. K2Frog2 says:

    I know frogging can be painful, but it looks like you are handling it okay. Will you be making the same shawl or something else?

  2. Mom says:

    To Marylin: Maybe you don’t know this about my daughter—until about 10-15 years ago, she thought it was Boston, NY not Boston, Mass. Sooooo, maybe 2 is her limit!!! Sorry, Tonja.

Comments are closed.