biscuits and Sunsets

I had a “first” over the weekend – I made biscuits from scratch. Oooo-la-la. Yes, I know. I purchased a $1.99 Southern Biscuit cookbook from Amazon and have been reading up on this fair art, but my recipe in Saturday came from here. The Smitten Kitchen is a blog that I read and she has lots of interesting recipes with lots and lots of pictures, which is what I like. She’s been raving about this recipe for years now, so I decided to give it a try.

2013-03-09 08.27.21

The one thing you DON’T want to know about this recipe is that it calls for…9T of butter. Yes, NINE TABLESPOONS of butter. I had to purchase a pastry cutter just so this would turn out correctly.

2013-03-09 08.31.16

My one problem with the dough was that it wasn’t moist enough. I don’t think I fluffed the flour enough – probably should have sifted it first – and so it came out a little too dense and I ended up adding about a 1/4 c more buttermilk than the recipe called for. Lesson learned.

2013-03-09 08.47.04

2013-03-09 08.51.14

But they sure came out wonderfully tasty! Yum, yum!

Now, in other news, the Sunset is finally finished!

IMG_0276

I used my wire blockers to block this and I think it turned out well! It ended up being so large that I had to pull a footstool over so that I could pin it to something – you can see this in the photo above. It turned out to be a really nice size that I think my mom will like. Here’s an up-close shot.

IMG_0278

 

One thought on “biscuits and Sunsets

Comments are closed.