I just might be delusional or just plain brain dead

So I’ve been swatching away for the shawl – with absolutely no luck with obtaining guage. The pattern says that proper guage should be 16.5 stitches over 4 inches with a size 7 needle. I’m using the EXACT same yarn as the pattern, so I know it is not a yarn issue. Knowing the the 7s were too small (’cause that is what I just ripped out), I pulled out some 8s and cast on 32 stitches. I knit this at my usual tension (being the tightwad..uh, tight knitter) and my guage was 20 stitches over 4 inches. Frogged that swatch. Cast on 32 again and knit on size 8 with a “looser” guage. Came out at 19 stitches per 4 inches. I’m going to have to go up to a 9 at this point to see if this helps.

In the meantime, I have very nearly memorized 650 Greek words. Very nearly. My final quiz is tomorrow and I have about 10 words that aren’t sticking very well, but we’ll work on them. I think I might just be plain brain dead.

One thought on “I just might be delusional or just plain brain dead

  1. K1Frog2 says:

    Try the nines. You ARE a tight knitter, so it’s not out of the question that you may even need tens. As for being out of your mind, well, it’s not so bad out here. Join the club!

Comments are closed.