knot knitting (slaps forehead)

See this?

photo

This is the progress that I’ve made on mom’s shawl. Pretty impressive, eh?

No.

There is a problem. You can’t see it, but I can. What may it be, you ask?

Gauge.

Gauge is the thing that all experts say you must figure out *before* you knit something. Gauge is what determines the measurements for the item in question. When gauge is off, the garment does not turn out to be the size intended.

But this looks fine, you say. Yeah, but looks can be deceiving.

So what is my next course of action, you wonder?

To frog. Which is to say that I need to totally rip this thing apart, find size 8 circs (size 7, the recommended needle size happens to be too small because I’m, *ahem* a tight knitter), cast on and knit a swatch. A swatch that will tell me if the size 8 needles will do the trick. Then, and only then, can I do this for real.

Sorry mom, but this is going to take a bit longer than expected.

 

2 thoughts on “knot knitting (slaps forehead)

Comments are closed.