showers and llamas

This past weekend I attended Julie’s baby shower (Hi Julie!) and the 6th Annual Midwest Fiber and Folk Art Fair.

First the shower. I had a wonderful brunch with Rebekah and Amanda. It’s probably been about 2 years since I’ve seen Amanda, so it was good to see her, hear about her now 2 kids and their escapades. Such fun! Julie looked wonderful (she is due in August) and looked like she was having a good time. I also got to see her mom and Sasa, her friend from Grad School – so all was well on that front. While I haven’t finished her handmade gift, I did show her the progress I’ve made – I felt ok doing this since I was at her house when I started this little project. Here is what it currently looks like:

It is a simple little wave pattern.

After the shower I met Kate at the Fair – at which I didn’t buy anything (more to that later). To be honest, I also went to the fair on Friday with Jane and her oldest daughter. One of the things the Fair is trying to do is add more animals and fleece judging. Last year was the first year for the fleece judging but this year’s judge was awesome.

That fleece he is working on is Cormo – Cormo is a cross between Corriedale and Merino – it should have the length and crimpiness of Corriedale and the softness of Merino. What I liked best about this judge was how he walked us through each aspect of the judging criteria: skirting, debris, consistency, feel, color, length, twanginess (like a guitar) and softness. Fascinating. We watched him rate a couple of fleece and then wandered out to the new attraction this year: the llamas.

 

In case you didn’t know, Llamas are in the camelid family along with Alpacas. They apparently don’t have “breeds” within the Llama family, but there are regions from whence they originate but those regions do not dictate the quality of fiber on the animal. One interesting tidbit from one of the owners was that if the hair on the animal is “drapey” it will spin into a drapey yarn and if the hair is “spongey” then it will produce a yarn that is spongey.

One thought on “showers and llamas

Comments are closed.