society of knitters

It never ceases to amaze me what knitting in public can do. Or even publicly wearing hand knitted items. I was sitting and reading at the Atlanta airport on Saturday for my 3.5 hour layover and was getting a little chilly. So I pulled out the shawl that Jane knit for me and swung it over my shoulders. Within 3 seconds 2 knitters from Milwaukee had pounced on me and started questioning me about the shawl. No, I didn’t make it, but a friend made it for me. Yes, it is Malabrigo Lace. No, I’ve never knit socks with the Malabrigo Sock yarn. Yes, I can knit and crochet.

I did manage to get a few questions in myself. Neither was on Ravelry. So I gave them my knitting card. And we settled in and started showing each other our current projects. Just when I though it would be safe to go back to reading, we noticed another woman knitting (Color Affection) and my 2 companions did their 3-second pounce.

That is what being a part of the Society of Knitters can do for you. Instant “friends” and always something to talk about.

I did invite all to the Midwest Fiber and Folk Art Fair and to the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival. I can’t believe these people have lived in Milwaukee all their lives and never been to the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival. Crazy.

2 thoughts on “society of knitters

Comments are closed.