sorry, but my elephant sat on your car

There is a guy who works here (at least through the end of today because he is leaving for a new job) who thinks that if he lived here in Lake Forest he would own an elephant and ride his elephant everywhere in town. And use the cars that park on the road as elephant seats. Then when the elephant gets up, he would just leave a check behind to pay for a new car. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! If you knew Lake Forest, you’d understand the joke. I just thought the line “sorry, but my elephant sat on your car” was hilarious and merited a blog post. So here it is.

After another week of not writing, I am finally (FINALLY!) beginning to feel better. I’ve been suffering with stomach pain and discomfort for about 6 months now. I had another 2 “episodes” within the last 3 weeks which prompted a boohoo session in my doctor’s office. They finally decided to do some extensive blood work to see if I have any food allergies, and to see if I have this bacteria thing called H. Pylori. And they gave me a referral to a GI doctor. As soon as I left my doctor’s office I called for an appointment with the GI doctor. I got in the next day and he decided I needed an endoscopy. He did the endoscopy on Tuesday of this week and he took some biopsies of places of irritation in my stomach and upper small intestine. Blood work and biopsies both were positive for this H. Pylori thing. So now I’m on an antibiotic – 12 pills a day for 10 days. Plus he wants me to take omeprazole twice a day for these 10 days as well. That’s 14 pills a day for 10 days. That’s a LOT of pills.

I guess the good thing is that I now know what has been causing my problems and that there is a cure for it. I can’t tell you what a relief it is to finally have an answer. The CDC website says that there are now links of long-term infections of H. Pylori bacteria with ulcers and stomach cancer. Double yuck.

The unfortunate thing for me on the CDC website is that this bacteria can be difficult to get rid of. The compound factor for me is that I’m also allergic to penicillin and anything related to penicillin (like cephelosporin), and the most common antibiotic prescribed for this is Amoxicillin, which I can’t have. I don’t know if this will make my treatment more difficult or not, we’ll just have to wait and see.

I other, more knitterly news, I cast on for a baby blanket for Miss Julie, who now has a little baby-bump that is adorable. I’m not going to talk about the design of this much, except that it is a Tonja Brice Original Design (or T-BOD for short), so you’ll have to wait with abated breath until the unveiling of said blanket before you, dear faithful readers (all 8 of you), can see it.

Also, I am almost done with Chart A of the Pearcy shawl! I have 10 more rows to do and then I can begin Chart B! YEY!

3 thoughts on “sorry, but my elephant sat on your car

  1. Jill C had the same problem and conclusion of H. pylori as the cause. It causes 85-90% of all ulcers and as you now know is curable with antibiotics. It is hard to get rid of but you should be ok. Take Care!!!

    • tjbrice says:

      Thanks, Catherine! Jill and I have been “talking” on Facebook. I am actually glad to know someone who has been through this ordeal, although I would not wish it on anyone. I am so thankful that we have intelligent people like yourself who are biology-minded and can invent things like antibiotics. 🙂 God is good.

  2. K1Frog2 says:

    Can’t wait to learn more about the baby blanket! Pictures! Or will that spoil the surprise? I’m so glad you finally know what’s wrong with your stomach. And so sorry you have this crazy pill regime. It’s hard, but at least it’s not forever…Can’t wait for Saturday. Should be fun!

Comments are closed.