life as a knitter

There was a time not too long ago that I didn’t know how to knit. I was basically a happy person and at times when I needed to give a gift to someone I would simply go to the store and purchase one.

But now things are different.

I feel compelled to make my gifts.

Which seems to add a little pressure to my life that was not there before.

Case in point. I have SP’s Quinceañera to knit for, a niece’s birthday that needs something, and now 2 babies that are in need. Great need, mind you. These babies will not survive the world without a hand knitted garment from “Auntie Tonja” and I know it.

Demand is a good thing, but why does it always happen at the same time? Have you ever noticed that? You’re in a grocery store…and nobody is in there buying groceries but when you go to check out..the lines are a mile long. How does that happen?

This isn’t a complaint – I’m not complaining. I’m just making a social comment on the state of my knitting life. I am more than thrilled for the 2 babies coming into the world and I can’t wait to search baby item patterns for the.perfect.knitted.gift.of.love to make for them. I surely can’t wait!

But first things first. Quinceañera and then 7th birthday. Marching orders are in hand.

