plodding along

I have a few confessions to make, but I’m not so sure that you will see the need. I’ll start at the beginning.

About 12 years ago, I found myself in a fairly deep depression. I don’t think most people noticed, but it was there. I was in a job that I loved, working with people who I didn’t. I was living alone and didn’t really like it. If you’ve never experienced depression on any level, then you don’t really now how debilitating it can be. In trying to deal with things myself, I started by analyzing what I was doing that could be changed. One small change I decided to make was to have my cable disconnected. It was a small change, but one that would force me to not come home every night and sit and veg on the TV all night. And you know, it worked, to a degree. It gave me freedom.

And I’ve lived quite nicely without one for a long time. There were a few years that I did have a TV and basic cable – but only because I had roommates at the time and they wanted something to watch.

But now things have changed again. TV shows are readily available in many different formats – online, DVD’s, iTunes. And I’ve found that it has once again become a major temptation in my life. I find that the end of a long day and the end of a long week, all I feel I have the energy for is TV. And it is starting to interrupt my life. This is my confession. I need to learn better control over my priorities. School should take precedence over TV shows.

In other, more knitterly news, I have finished the first repeat of the 3rd chart for the Mystery Shawlette and once again, the lifeline has saved me hours of headaches and tears. 🙂 I think I will have 2 more repeats of chart C to do before I can move to the next chart.

I’m also making slow progress with the Whipporwill. I had to take a pause to figure out how many more rows I’ll need before I can start the next section and I’ve determined that I think I need 8 more rows. So exciting!

Also, I’ve settled on a little bolero sweater vest for Olivia’s 7th birthday. Colors? Light purple with pink on the edging, of course. So I need to shift my focus from the Whipporwill to this bolero, ’cause there is a deadline of April 2nd.

 

4 thoughts on “plodding along

Comments are closed.