starting off

This year has begun in a strange way. In many respects it is the same as every year…thoughts about resolutions goals, dreams to achieve and remembrances of years past. I did do all of those. But something feels strange about this year and I can’t quite place my finger on it.

Perhaps it is because I am going back to school after nearly 2 years off…and picking up Greek again is going to be rough (very, very rough). Perhaps it is because I am trying to set and keep a budget this year. Who knows? But something does feel different.

I worked on my budget over the weekend and also created a little weekly chart for me so that I could see which days I would need to plan for taking both lunch and dinner…and could then plan my meal making and freezing accordingly. I don’t have a printer at home..so this week I just “winged it”. I planned on making Chili and tostadas for this week…but it is only Tuesday and the week has already slipped out from under me. I completely forgot to factor in Writing Group tonight…something I haven’t been able to attend very much for the last few months as I have been doing my field ed thing for Trinity. But I get to go tonight so I’m going to take advantage of that. Which means that I forgot to bring dinner with me. Which means I either need to stretch my lunch out and have it “serve” for both..or stop and get something which will end up blowing my budget. One good thing to note is that I purchased a bag of apples (albeit very small apples) and a few oranges bringing one of each with me to work (trying to eat more fruit, you see), so I do have some snacky things along with lunch.

The real problem is not dinner tonight but more lunch for tomorrow. I didn’t have time to make either the chili or the tostada stuff yesterday…and I found one more serving of my beef and barley stew in the freezer…so now I’ll have to figure something out for lunch tomorrow. The good news is that I don’t have small group tomorrow…so I don’t need to plan for both. Whew!

In essence, this whole planning thing is not quite under wraps just yet. Looks like I need to do some more work.

In other, more knitterly, news, I’m still plugging away on the Whippoorwill Shawl, which has nearly 400 stitches on the needles right now – all of which are done in stockinette and can be very boring knitting. I’m thinking of doing one more increase section just to make the shawl a little longer than the 18 inches in the center back, which of course means about another 150 stitches by the time I get to the first lacy part. I may need a padded room by the time I’m finished with this thing – just beware.

I’ve decided to make a little shawlette for my friend-almost-cousin, Savannah, in celebration of her Quinceañera in March. (She actually turned 15 on January 1st, but the party isn’t until March.) I have the yarn but not the pattern just yet. Don’t want this to be massive, just a little lacy thing (that can also qualify as my one completed lace project for the year) that she can wear to mundane things like the movies. Will post the pattern when I finally settle on one – it will need to be SOON, though, as I now only have 3 months to finish it.

