adventures in breadmaking part 3

Last year for Christmas, Lori gave me this book:

It is quite hefty but phenominal. This is not just a collection of recipes – Bittman walks you though the whys and hows of what you are doing. He explains the uses of different pots, pans, utensils, bakeware, and loads of other stuff and then gives you tips on what to look for when you buy it. He will give you a recipe and then 20 different ways to modify it. It is truely a fantastic book.

So in my endeavor to learn to bake bread, I started reading this book. And in reading, an idea sparked something special in my brain. You see, I am determined to use my bread croc, but the drawback has been that it has to heat up with the oven and I have been unable to modify the cooking time sufficiently to allow for this. But in one of the recipes in this book, it says to heat the pan in the oven as the oven heats up and then when the oven is ready transfer the dough into the heated pan and then bake.

EUREKA!

So that is what I did. I mixed the ingredients in a glass bowl and let it rise in there and when it was time to start baking I put the bread croc into the oven and heated it up and then transferred the dough. And it worked! I got a better rise this time and a proper cooking time. I think I may have found the solution.

In other news, I am very happy that today is the last working day of the week. I got home last night and decided to make some decorations…so I put this up:

The “peace” sign was just a pop-out, but the mittens were a kit that I got to decorate. The Peace kit also came with those teeny-tiny red clothes pins and the string to hang it on. So much fun! I think I’m going to transfer this to my front window tomorrow (when it is light outside). It’s never too late for decorations, right?

Merry Christmas everyone! I’ll be back next week…

One thought on “adventures in breadmaking part 3

Comments are closed.