10 Things I Learned On Vacation

  1. I knit pathetically slow. Kate finished a hat (a very intricate, 2 color, dragon hat, mind you) and Marylin knit, like half, of a major complicated Aran sweater – the kind with lots and lots of cables. Me, I knit the head of a small elephant and about 4 color stripes on my baby blanket.
  2. My dad thinks he’s funny.
  3. I can do minor repairs on my house…if I take time to think about what I’m doing and I have someone beside me to cheer me on (thanks Dad!).
  4. Being “domestic” is “work”. I have a new respect for people to keep house AND cook all the time.
  5. Plumbing repairs are ridiculously expensive.
  6. My house retains heat very well (okay, this was a cheat – I already knew this).
  7. I now know what ward I live in and leaf pick up starts November 1st in my ward.
  8. Ace is the place with the helpful hardware men.
  9. Taking a vacation during a major software upgrade at work was…stupid. I’ll never do that again.
  10. Silence can be wonderful.
2 thoughts on “10 Things I Learned On Vacation

  1. Mom says:

    No.4—does that mean your mother?? OK, I know I have someone to clean now, but there was a time when I didn’t.

  2. K1Frog2 says:

    Don’t worry Tonja, you’ll pick up speed as you go. You are already faster than you were this time last year. Practice!

    And I agree on No. 4- that’s why I cook and do laundry. The rest of the family can clean. And if my strategy actually worked, I’d have more time for knitting!

Comments are closed.