the fam

As promised, here are the most recent “professional” pictures of the family.

I don’t think Kristin and I have had our picture taken like this since I was in High School. There is a picture that hangs in my parent’s hall of the two of us in our Girl Scout uniforms and I believe that is the last “professional” picture of just the two of us. I’m so glad we had the opportunity to have these done this year.

The event that launched this photo shoot was Gabby’s 3rd birthday.

Isn’t she a cutie pie? She was in love with those flowers…kept going back to the basket and asking for them, so the photographer finally put them in the picture. She sure turned out to be a little ham. Shy at first, she finally opened up and started flirting with the photographer – even pulling up her dress and “flashing” him.  Good thing she didn’t have much to “flash”, but seriously, one might think that she is going to be a stripper when she grows up.

This is my favorite picture of the whole day:

I think it really shows them as they are: big sis looking down on little sis, who is in turn intently studying and mimicking her big sis. Oh the memories it brings back!

In knitting news, I attempted something this weekend for the first time: a yarn splice. I am knitting a baby blanket for my campus pastor and his wife and was approaching the end of the skein of yarn. I thought I was going to end the skein in the middle of a section (remember, the blanket is in stripes), so instead of tying a knot to attach the second skein, I decided to splice the yarn – which means connecting it in such a way as to not knot it, but so that you can keep knitting.

There are several different methods of splicing, and I suppose you would choose one over another depending on the type of yarn. Wool yarns that are not superwash (superwash means that you can put them in the washer and dryer without them felting), can easily be joined in just about any fashion because wool fibers attach to themselves very easily (hence “felting”). My yarn, however, is superwash Merino, which means that it will “felt” but only so slightly. So I tried a “Russian” join where you take the end of one skein of yarn and thread it into the center of the new skein and then take the end of the new skein and thread it into the center of the old one – kind of meshing them together. This makes the yarn a little thicker in the join, but it will be completely unnoticeable in the knitted project. I was so proud of myself for figuring this out. I even texted the picture to Kate. Unfortunately, I finished that color’s stripe pattern BEFORE the end of the skein, making the join completely unnecessary. *sigh* Sometimes I can’t win for loosing.

I did, however, take a lovely picture for you:

Click to embiggen and see my wonderful handiwork up close!

The good news in all of this is that I will MOST DEFINITELY have the opportunity to try this during the 2nd Annual North Shore Knit Out this weekend! And now that I know how to do it I can improve upon my technique and make it even better!

One thought on “the fam

Comments are closed.