nothing new

I’m once again feeling a bit overwhelmed. My weeks are just too full these days. I get home late (past 9 PM) Tuesday – Thursday every week, so today I find myself in an odd predicament: a FREE Thursday. *sigh* You know what this means, right?

Knitting Time!

I think I’m going to continue on with my shawl with the lace panel insert and get that thing finished up (but not tonight, hopefully during the 2nd Annual North Shore Knit Out in 2 weeks).

On my way to work this morning, I saw something similar to this:

Sunrise, Lake Michigan

A huge globe of a red sun peeking over the water. It was glorious! I wish I had stopped to take a picture, but this one will have to do.

In other non-new news, I’ve started keeping track of all the ways I can spend money improve my house. I would seriously like to re-do the bathroom and either put in a full shower stall with no tub, or a tub that has a hand-held shower spray but one that can be sat in comfortably. My current tub is extremely small and is not ment for “soaking”, something I like to do once-in-a-while. And there is no real shower thing – it is a hand-held that hangs on the wall, but on that side of the tub there is this really awkward half-shelf-wall-thingie that gets in the way, so you can’t really stand under the shower, you are forced to physically spray yourself. Anyway, I’d like to redo the whole thing, but of cour$e there i$ a fair amount of moolah involved.

Also, I would like to make some modifications to the kitchen. I basically have 1.4 feet of useable counter space – no, seriously – that’s all that I have. I’ve made do with it simply because someone gave me a serving table and a sideboard that are helping out with the whole countertop issue. What I would like to do is get rid of the serving table and put in a small cabinet that will hold the trash and recycling bins, and then above it put in a real shelf thing to hold cups and glasses. Again, there i$ a $mall i$$ue of money.

So those are the top two “room” improvements on the list, but there are actually other improvements that also need to be done. I need to get the electrical wiring finished. I had the ampage coming into the house increased from 60 to 100 amps this last spring, and they redid all the conduit in the basement but did not do the final step of re-wiring the outlets. That is a job that I have reserved for my non-“honey” honey, Michael. I’m hoping we can get that done soon. *hinthint*

And the la$t really major upgrade I need to do on the hou$e is to have a tile drainage $y$tem placed in the ba$ement along with a $ump pump $o that when it rain$ heavily there i$ no leakage $eeping through. That, though, will be major buckaroo$. But a girl can dream, right?

Ooo – parental units are coming in less than 2 weeks! Can’t wait to see them! It happened to work out that when I take Marylin back to the airport on Tuesday after our 2nd Annual North Shore Knit Out, I will stay an extra hour and pick my parents up! Couldn’t have asked for better timing. And it will be a week of good relaxation, knitting, and seeing family. I SO cannot wait!

One thought on “nothing new

Comments are closed.