a little poem

To caffeinate or not to caffeinate, that is the question.
Whether ‘tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The sleepiness of mid-afternoon work,
Or to energize against a sea of troubles
By caffeinating end them?

From this little ditty you might guess that I’m suffering that “mid-afternoon nap-time” need and trying desperately to stay awake and concentrate. My dilemma in these situations is this: if I drink some caffeine now, will I have trouble sleeping tonight? And the answer is usually a resounding YES, ergo, no coffee for me.

I am, however, toying with the idea of tea this afternoon for several reasons. 1) it has far less caffeine than coffee and 2) it has more antioxidants than coffee and 3) I miss drinking tea. I don’t know why but about a year ago I switched from being a 3-cup a day tea-totaler* to a 2-cup a day coffee drinker. *sigh* Dilemma, dilemma.

Okay, I’ve resolved this for today: I’m going to drink some tea. Whew! Just needed to get that out of my system. Thanks!

*Yes, I realize that I’m using this word out of context, but I’m trying to convey that by being a “tea totaler”, I was PRO-tea and ANTI-coffee, thereby being totally about tea, ergo**, tea totaler.

**That’s the second time in this post I’ve used that word. Don’t know where it came from, but it sure was fun to say!

 

UPDATED: 4:35 PM.  I gave in and did purchase that cup of tea. I have been “nursing” it for the better part of an hour and I don’t regret the purchase. At least not yet. I just hope that I can get some sleep tonight.

