the big reveal

As promised, here are the photos of the baby sweater I made for the G’s new baby, Maddie. Click to embiggen.

It took me forever to find the right buttons: they had to be large enough for the button holes, and stylish enough for the sweater. Since the sweater is a 4-ply, worsted weight yarn that is 2 ply pink variegated, one ply why and one ply grey, I needed something that would balance the colors just so.

The was, I had purchased buttons for this about a month ago and they have gotten sucked into the “mess that is my house” so I had to start all over with the button shopping. Then I found these and they were even more perfect than the first ones I bought.

It is a little larger for her now, but I suspect that by November it will be just right as an “outer” sweater. Nice and thick, yet acrylic (re: machine washable), it should be warm and cozy.

I’m also going to give you a preview today of something that I’m making. Ready?

Here it is:

Not sure what it is? Okay, here’s the example:

It is a lace panel inset into a sweater in this month’s Interweave Knits magazine. I love, love, love this idea. I’m going to take it and turn it into a shawl, though. I have a patter for a Raglan Shawl, knit in stockinette and I thought, why not? I could insert that lace panel into the shawl just as easily as it was inserted into that sweater. So I’m doing it. Not sure what I’m doing or how I’m doing it just yet, but I’m hoping that I’m far enough along in my knitting skills that I can just make it up on the fly. You never know unless you try, right? I’m a little further along than in my picture so when I switch to the next chart I’ll take another photo and show you the update.

One thought on “the big reveal

  1. Mom says:

    What a good idea. Whoever thought up that one was genius. The back of that sweater is very pretty. Good wishes to your shawl!

Comments are closed.