reading and writing

I love to read and have been an avid reader ever since I learned to read. One thing that has been neglected in my life for the last few months has been books. Work has been so overwhelming that I’m just plumb tuckered by the time I get home. And, I have to admit that I have become a very lazy reader and have opted to listen to books at times when I should be actively reading instead. But that is going to change this weekend because I plan on engaging in some reading!

I am also going to start doing some writing. There are two things that I need to work on: my next bible study (1 Corinthians) and a short story. I’m thinking of basing my short story on the book of Ruth set in modern times. It is a story that I’ve been enamored with ever since I translated it from the Hebrew in school. The potential for the story being set in modern times, for me, should demonstrate the draw of God and His perfection and grace that would cause someone to leave their culture (re:world) and follow someone across cultural boundaries without knowing the future. To a degree I understand what it means to leave the comfort of all that you know to move someplace new and foreign. Like Ruth, I also had one person to whom I was acquainted. And like Ruth God moved in big ways in my life after I took that step of faith. Needless to say it is a story that is close to my heart in many ways.

So, you may be wondering what book I’m going to read. Yes? One of my two audio book downloads this month was a book called On Sparrow Hill by Maureen Lang. I didn’t realize that it was the second in a series, so now I get to read book #1: The Oak Leaves. The great thing about reading Maureen Lang’s books is that I’ve actually met her and can explore with her what it means to be a writer. I made a bold move a few months ago and joined a women’s Writing Group, having been introduced to it by Jane. I’ve often wanted to write the stories that I make up in my head and joining this group has started to make me think about construction, direction, intentionality and other writing tools that I most certainly need to develop. So off to writing I’ll be this weekend!

Update
The exercise plan is going to have to be a work in progress. I exercised in “full” yesterday – 20 minutes on the treadmill (doing 2 spurts of 10 minutes on the “random” setting, which means “hills”) and two full rounds of 12 reps per round on 9 different machines. I expected to be flat-out sore today but instead, surprisingly, I’m not sore at all. I don’t know if that is a good thing (it means that I’ll have to keep on doing it) or a bad thing (I’ll be flat-out whacked tomorrow instead). We’ll just have to see how next week goes.

This is blog post #297. Three more to go!

2 thoughts on “reading and writing

  1. Mom says:

    I don’t know if you know this or not, but the book of Ruth has a very special place in my heart and family history. When my grandfather was ‘courting’ my grandmother, Joel and Olivia, he decided to propose and he did. She answered him by saying her answer was Ruth such and such. She quoted the exact scripture chapter and verse and I have forgotten them. My grandfather, at that time, was not an especially church-going person. So, in order to find out if Olivia accepted of offer of marriage, he had to find a Bible and someone the find the passage in Ruth that would answer his question. I am, of course, referring to Ruth’s answer to her mother-in-law: Where thou goest, I will go. etc. By the time I came along, my grandfather was a very good church-going person and could find ANYTHING in the Bible for himself.

    • tjbrice says:

      Mom, I do remember that story…I had forgotten it somehow. Thank you for reminding me of it and giving me more inspiration for writing that story again!

Comments are closed.