weeds

This is a dandelion:

In my yard, dandelion = weed. Definition of weed: any undesirable or troublesome plant, especially one that grows profusely where it is not wanted.

Some people eat dandelions. According to A Modern Herbal, dandelions have medicinal uses for the kidneys and liver.

But this, this picture below, of the field of dandelions – both the yellow flower and the puff-ball thing, this is what my front yard looks like:

So not good. I collected 3 buckets full of this illustrious plant last night and probably have at least 2 more to go. And that was just the front yard. The back yard is equally abundant with this thing weed. My knee needed icing twice last night.

I could so live without this weed. I did purchase a nice big bag of Weed n Feed yesterday, so after I de-weed the front yard, cut what miniscule amount of grass is there, and water, I’ll liberally spread this stuff around and hopefully kill off some of that dandelion weed.

So, if any of you are interested in making some fresh dandelion concoction of something-or-other, please come by my house today, otherwise you’ll have to go scrounge some from the playground a block away – I don’t think they would mind losing a few dandelion plants weeds.

