caution: yarn p**n

I think I’ve failed to show all of you the wonderful yarn that was purchased at the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival. I have to caution you, though, this is rather sensitive material for your eyes. Proceed at your own risk.

First up is the yarn that came from the Jacob sheep farm that I visited. Because these sheep are spotted, if their fleece is processed as one unit, it will end up looking like a tweedy yarn, like this: (click to embiggen, if you dare)

The second shot isn’t as in focus as I would like, but you can see the natural coloring of the wool. This was processed as sock weight yarn and there is about 850 yards on that cone, of which I have 2. Either 4 pairs of socks or a small shawl, either way it will be fun to knit with.

 Next up is some Merino. Merino wool is one of the softest, fluffiest, most wonderful yarn you’ll ever have the privilege of touching. (Jacob, remember is not always “next-to-the-skin” soft.) I purchased 2 of these – 560 yards each.

Notice that the yarn is all twisted up. Yarn that comes like this needs to be wound into a ball. Most people usually drape it around their neck or on the back of a chair to keep it from tangling and then wind it themselves. Me, I’m a bit more lazy, and I don’t really like making yarn balls by hand, so I use these tools: a swift and a ball winder.

This is the swift – a very handy tool that keeps the yarn from getting tangled. Mine is a handmade one that I purchased at the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival about 4 years ago and I love it.

I can’t imagine winding a skein of yarn without the swift. I’ve tangled up more than one good skein of yarn without the swift (one of which is still hidden in a bag in the back of my closet because it is so tangled, but those are bad memories, so we’ll leave them in the closet for now).

Here is what it looks like when it is done.

Next up is some really fine, lace weight alpaca.

The true color is a wonderful cranberry red. I also have 2 of these at 850 yards each. I have them earmarked for a shawl.

Last up, is this lovely Merino yarn from Malabrigo. Some of you may remember this colorway (Stonchat) from the cowl I made from this yarn in a bulky weight (this is a picture of Olivia modeling it for me).

This, below, is the sock weight. While it was not purchased at the MSWF, I just thought I would throw it in for good measure (and because I needed to wind this skein into a ball as I will be needing it soon).

(Again, sorry for the blurriness.) I am currently knitting this into the Citron Shawl.

 

That’s it for the yarn p**n. Hope you enjoyed it! Have a happy Wednesday!

