there is a name for everything

One of the reasons that I named this blog “The Blond Knitter” (other than the fact that I’m blonde) is because of a conversation I had with a fellow knitter once. You see, I learned to knit about 7 years ago by Joanna. Joanna knits a LOT and taught me an easy cast on method called “the backwards loop” method. I quickly abandoned this method because I am such a “tight” knitter and the “looseness” of this cast on was driving me crazy. So I learned to do cast on where you simply “knit” on the stitches (in other words you go through the motions of a knit stitch but instead of keeping the stitch on the right needle, you take it off and transfer it back to the left needle – if you do this repeatedly you are adding stitches on to your left needle). When you’re finished casting on, all you have to do is just start knitting normally – everything is on the left needle and ready to go.

The humor came when I was trying to figure out a pattern and couldn’t figure out why my thing kept coming out backwards, or I simply couldn’t understand the directions because what was in my hands was backwards from what the pattern called for. So I asked Marylin about it, she being of far greater expertise than I in all things knit. The conversation went something like this:

Me: The directions say that when the first row is knit that this thing is on the left…but for me it is on the right. What gives? How do I get it to the left?

Marylin: Well, the directions are correct, that when you cast on it will be on the right.

Me: but it isn’t, it is on the left. All my cast on stitches are on the left needle, not the right.

Marylin: Wait..you cast on to your left needle? How is that possbile – I always cast on to my right and then have to turn it around to begin knitting.

Me: This was how I was taught…you cast on to the left needle. How do you cast on to the right needle? That doesn’t make sense.

It actually took us a little longer to figure out what was happening and when we finally did figure out that we were using different methods we had a good laugh.

Which brings me to the point of today’s post: I’ve decided to join a Knit-A-Long this summer for a little shawlette and the cast on calls for a “Lace Cast On”. After doing some research, it turns out that my little cast on above is the actual “Lace” cast on. Who knew?

Just so you know, and so that I can keep track, here are the cast on methods that I now know: Backward Loop, Lace Cast On, Cable Cast On, Invisible Cast On and Long Tail Cast On.

Wow: there are SO many different ways to get started! Which cast on method do you prefer and why? I usually do the long tail one simply because I find that it is the quickest and the most “tight” one (since I am a tight knitter). : -)

2 thoughts on “there is a name for everything

  1. I do the one my grandma taught me… perhaps if I show it to you, you can tell me what it is. If a pattern calls for another specific cast-on I will do it, but I prefer my method.

  2. Marylin says:

    As people can probably guess from our conversation, I usually use the long tail cast on. The classic sources say it is the strongest. However, now that I know the lace cast on (and its name, thanks!) I sometimes prefer it. I find it is more elastic than the long tail cast on, so when I want the starting edge to be able to stretch more, I use it.

Comments are closed.