threats, flowers and shawls

My family teases me constantly about my “little adventures”. Typically they have come in the form of driving – like when you are going somewhere you’ve never been before and take an “unexpected” detour. What they tend to forget, especially in the midst of an “adventure”, is that I don’t get lost – well, I haven’t been lost in over 25 years. I simply take detours. Sometimes, however, their jousting comes in the form of non-driving adventures that I seem to get myself into. Here is one: I came home on Saturday to find this monstrosity glued to my front window.

In case you can’t read it, it is a Notice of Termination of electrical services because something was in “non compliance of service within 5 feet of window”. I’ve blacked out all pertinent information to protect the identity of those involved. They didn’t tape this to my window, they glued it to my window, which angered me more than the actual message on the paper. I think it is very rude for any company to GLUE something to your house – no matter how “in the right” they think they are – this is my property and if they feel they need to inform me that something is out of compliance, well then put the paper in my mailbox, or stuff it in the door, or better yet, give me a call. But don’t, e.v.e.r. , glue it to my house. Anyway, I had a feeling this was all because of the electrical upgrade that was done on my house a few weeks ago so I called the company that did the work. The good news is that they will work to rectify the issue and get it resolved. They think that the ComEd inspector overlooked something and is sending her back out to take another look. Hopefully, problem solved.

Now, on to better things: tulips.

 image

Just FYI – the big leaves surrounding the tulips are Holly Hock – a plant that I thought was going to be awful but actually produce a nice stalk of flowers that will come into bloom in late summer. The stalks will be around 10 feet tall.

image

image

Too bad I won’t be here this weekend to enjoy all the flowers blooming – hopefully I won’t miss all of it!

What I will be doing, though, is knitting on these: first up, the Vesna shawl knit in a fingering weight Alpaca yarn that I purchased at the Wisconsin Sheep and Wool Festival last year. I really, really like the yarn, although it is going to be a little too fuzzy for good lacework like this. I will finish it, though, because it will keep my neck warm in the winter time. You won’t see the full effect of the lace until it is finished and blocked properly. That is one of the cool things about doing lacework. You knit this thing and watch as the “holes” mysteriously form a pattern but then you get surprised all over again once it is blocked and you see the full effect of the lace. So cool.

image

image

And finally another shawl, one that I am calling Blue Waves. This is a square-ish shawl (the Vesna above will be circular in nature) and is using the Print O’the Wave pattern, which is a Shetland lace pattern. You can see the details in the bottom pic.

image

image

 I love the subtlety of the solid center section and the “waves” that are forming there.

4 thoughts on “threats, flowers and shawls

  1. Nice shawls. Was that the same alpaca I bought? I really must do some knitting, I’ve been slacking.

    Your blog’s different. Obviously I missed an important switchover while I was revising HCD.

  2. Terry Bagwell says:

    Great photos. I thought those were hollyhocks before you wrote that they were. I love your knitting, and you write about it as if it’s so easy. I know better!!! ~ Terry

Comments are closed.