don't knock a public education

I often hear people speak poorly of public school education, and honestly, I’ve always considered my education to be average. Not exemplary, not bad, but average. But then I say something to someone that I consider “public knowledge” and the cock their head to the side and look at me quizically as if they have no clue what I’m talking about.

Case in point: yesterday was March 15. Yesterday was the Ides of March. Julius Caesar was killed on March 15th, stabbed to death by a supposed friend. There is an old saying (and can I clarify “old” here to mean probably 1,966 years old) “BEWARE THE IDES OF MARCH” – a saying that probably was first put into use in 45 AD as the annivarsy of Caesar’s death rolled around and people were thinking “gee, if HE could be killed by a friend, could I? I had better be on guard today”. Now, knowing this, I walked around yesterday saying “Beware the Ides of March!” and people looked at me as if I had just stepped out of a UFO and was a short, green visitor from out of space. Really? Is this not common knowledge? (Keep in mind that while I am short, I am neither green or from outer space.)

So, I say, don’t knock a public education: even the most “average” of one can produce uncommon knowledge. 🙂 (See Mom and Dad, I did learn *some* things in High School!) Anyway, today is March 16th, so you no longer have to be on guard.

In knitterly news, I’ve been in a knitting/crocheting funk for a few days. Two weeks ago I was so pumped and full of knitterly energy and now I have nothing. This is quite depressing. I think I might have a problem.

I am excited, however, that I will be doing something utterly fantabulous in about 8 weeks: it will be the trifecta of utopia. 1) road trip, 2) yarn shopping, 3) book research. Can’t wait! Kate mentioned yesterday that she is going to be excited to drive if for no other reason than she can take extra pillows. I’m happy that I can help be of some use to her by insisting on driving!  🙂

And in final news, I’m just plain happy. Even though I haven’t been sleeping well, even though I’m in a knitting funk, I’m still just plain happy.  🙂

TTFN!
(in case you don’t know that one: ta ta for now!)

4 thoughts on “don't knock a public education

  1. I am taking a break from work at you aunt’s house and happened upon your blog–OK, I went searching for something to ‘research’ and thought of your blog. I always had faith in public education, after I am the daughter of 2, not 1 but 2, school teachers and I was a teacher as well. If you had said ‘Beware the Ides of March’ to me I certainly would have known what you meant and would have answered you appropriately! She, your Aunt Sarah, is working us well and I fell we have accomplished some things that would have taken her a long to get done. That is to say there is still a lot, a whole lot, of things left to do, but we are making a dent. We cheer every time we empty a box.

  2. My public school education also educated me about the Ides of March. I didn’t know the quote went back any farther than Shakespeare, but that’s still pretty old. I thought everyone knew that one!

    Now, do you know what the kalends of March are? The nones? Ah hah! That took 10 years as a calligrapher.

Comments are closed.