the winter blahs

Winter has never had any adverse effects on me until this year.  In the ten winters I have lived in Chicago I have particularly loved the wonder of “four seasons” which includes the bitter cold winters. This year, though, record blizzard aside, I seem to have the winter blues, or really, blahs. I’m having a hard time summoning up any amount of energy to do anything except sleep, which really requires no energy at all.

Case in point: two weekends ago I couldn’t summon up enough energy (or will) to leave the house for 3 days…requiring a “sick” call out of work for 2 days. Given that I am rarely, if ever sick, I didn’t feel guilty about calling out.  But now that I’ve admitted that I don’t *get* sick, I’m going to be struck with the worst case of flu ever known to man…but we shall see.

I’ve finally decided to participate in a sleep study to see if there is anything that can be done to help me sleep better.  That might be one solution to the winter blahs.

I have, blah disorder aside, finished quite a few projects…more than is normal for me. I made a baby sweater for a friend of LH’s, my friends down in Plainfield.  I still need buttons for it, but that should be a quick fix.  Will need to make a trip to JoAnn’s…anyone need to make a trip there?  Thinking of Thursday…or maybe tonight.

I have made several cowls…and have 2 more in the planning for the near future. I have had a very unbashful request from the daughter of my boss who happens to be a student here. Her birthday is next week, so I have a little bit of time.

I am about 1/4 of the way into a crochet throw knitted in a very, very luxurious acrylic yarn in bulky weight. It is a patter that I plan to repeat in a worsted weight cotton using 2 contrasting colors…hopefully for my sister for Christmas next year.

I am also in the planning stages for my first sweater.  I’m thinking a top down ragland sweater. I have roughly 2400 yards of some heavy fingering weight alpaca natural (undyed) yarn that I’ve been collecting for a few years.  I’ve been dreaming about it for a while now, and am excited to start thinking about knitting a sweater. I have no pattern as of yet, but I’m sure that something will come to me soon.

So I guess that’s about it. I’m still alive. My house is still standing and is currently not under water…yet.

One thought on “the winter blahs

Comments are closed.