new year, new routine, NO resolutions

Research shows that people who make New Years resolutions don’t actually keep them, at least a very percentage don’t.  So I decided a few years ago that I would NOT be making New Years resolutions ever again, and this strategy has worked well for me.  Until this year.  I found myself wanting to make one.  So I thought and pondered on that for a while and decided that I wasn’t going to give in: no New Years resolutions for me.  However, I think I’m going to establish a New Routine.  One that consists of working out more.  Please note: this is not a resolution but a lifestyle change.  Honest.  No New Years resolutions for me, thank you very much.

So today was day 1 of New Routine: I walked a mile.  Not much, I know, but it is something.  1 full mile.

Here is another picture from Christmas break: Olivia and Gabby opening their stockings.  Notice what they are sitting on.  🙂

Edited to add:
And another thing, I showed up at church yesterday wearing, of all things, makeup.  I can’t believe how “amazed” everyone was by this.  I mean, I know I don’t wear it enough..but really, I don’t like giving in to all the advertising people who insist that women need to look a certain way in order to be “acceptable”.  I don’t usually wear makeup because I simply don’t like to wear it.  I feel gross with all that stuff caked on my skin not to mention that I rub my eyes a lot and mascara gets all messed up when I do.  But yesterday I suffered through and wore some.  And people just couldn’t stop gabbing about it.  Really.  I had one friend say to me “welcome to adulthood, Tonja”.  Really?  I think I’ve been one for a while now.  But I will try to make the commitment to wear makeup on Sundays.  I figure I can do one day a week.  Again, New Routine, not a resolution.

2 thoughts on “new year, new routine, NO resolutions

Comments are closed.