falling in the attic

I had to skip work yesterday because on Sunday I fell down in my attic.  Nothing serious, just a sprained wrist and a huge bruise on my … right hip.  What was I doing in my attic, you ask?  I’ll tell you.  On Sunday afternoon I was in my “office” watching season 3 of West Wing and just hanging out when it suddenly dawned on me that I was cold.  Colder than I should be.  Then it dawned on me that the bathroom fan was making a lot of noise.  Then it hit me that there are two windows in my attic – one in front and one in back – and one of them was open.  Which would totally explain why I was cold and why the bathroom fan was rattling.  So I decided to do something about it. 

Now, one of the features that I love about my house is the front porch.  I can never decide, though, if the porch was designed as part of the house or if it was an add-on.  Interestingly enough, the ceiling of the porch is about 2 feet lower than the ceilings in the rest of the house.  This is most noticeable from the attic.  When you go  up there, there is a huge recess in the beams where the front porch is….which is also where the open window was.  Instead of walking on the beams, I decided (rather stupidly now, I do confess) to walk on a board that must be older than dirt and well, didn’t hold up.  And down I fell.  My right hip landed squarely on the main lengthwise beam of the house and I managed to not fall through the front porch ceiling.  And I eventually managed to close the window.  Warmer, quieter house…bruised ego and … *bottom*.

What did you do this weekend?

One thought on “falling in the attic

  1. Ouch! Glad you are alright, though. It could have been much worse. Please be careful.

    With all the cold weather this weekend, we have a frozen pipe in the kitchen sink. No cold water and it’s frozen under the house, a BAAAD place. D is going to have to go under there and thaw the pipe if it doesn’t warm up soon. Think warm thoughts!

Comments are closed.