being ignored

I’ve been so tired these last few days (dreaming about spiders and other stuff) that I’ve been ignoring the puppy dog blanket.  Actually, that is only partially true.  I have been tired, but, and this is a big one, my machine has been…shall we say “finicky” lately.  (I’m trying to be polite and nice, a change in tactics that may prompt better service from the machine.)  I am at the point of sewing the pieces for the puppy’s paws, and there are two lines sewn to indicated the “toes” of the puppy, and I thought “how cute would that be to sew those lines as hearts?”.  And I did.  But only on the first one, because by the time I got to the second one problems started to abound.  What I think is happening this time is that the needle is hitting the presser foot and is causing the needle to do strange things.  So I gave up and put the machine back in time out.  I’m beginning to think that my machine and I will never grow out of the toddler stage in our relationship.  Oh how I wish it would just grow up and let me sew what I want.  Why does it have to pitch a hissy-fit each and every time I go to sew? Why?

In other news, I am progressing on my super-secret-Kate project.  I’m about 1/2 way finished.  She will be so proud of me…I can just feel it. (I do have one confession here, Kate.  What I am knitting is not for you, it is for me. I just want you to be surprized when you see it.)(Sorry I had to break it to you this way.)(Really.)

5 thoughts on “being ignored

  1. Did your machine come with more than one presser foot? Those fancy stitches cause the needle to move back and forth in a way straight stitches don’t. Some machines come with a presser foot with a small opening for straight stitching (and maybe zigzag) and a foot with a bigger opening for embroidering. Just a thought.

  2. I hate to break it to you Kate, but my guess is that Tonja is knitting a pair of socks, a pair of gloves, or a hat–all of which is really for her, but you will pe SO PROUD of her for having completed it!!!! Am I right, TJ?

  3. It’s all right. I promise to be very proud of you. Not that knitting is a destination. It’s a journey. A very long journey for me lately. Did I tell you that I sewed all the buttons on the wrong side of the placket? (sigh!)

Comments are closed.