time out

I started in on the puppy dog blanket (pattern here) last weekend and had to call my emergency sewing help line (aka Kate).  She couldn’t figure it out either.  I was using test material and the tension of the thread was totally off.  My machine is new to me and I couldn’t figure it out either. So I ended up taking the machine in on Tuesday to JoAnn’s and the Viking lady helped me out.  Seems like it was just a dull needle (who knew that needles should be changed every 8 hours of sewing?  Not me, and not my mother either).  Anyway, we got everything totally squared away and off I went sewing merrily along until…

…until Saturday.  I woke up, started sewing and then realized that the bobbin was about to be out of thread.  So I took it out, wound some more thread on it, put it back in, and boom!  The machine started acting up again.  I re-threaded the machine, I took out and put back in the bobbin and I even put a new needle on it (even though it was no where NEAR 8 hours of sewing time) and nothing.  The tension on the bottom was completely off.  So I did the only thing I could think of.  I put my machine in time out.

For the whole day.

When I came back on Sunday (today), I took the bobbin out, put it back in and re-threaded the machine and..voila!  It was working properly again.  Let this be a lesson to you: if something isn’t working right…place it in time out.

One thought on “time out

  1. How frustrating! My mother used to threaten her machine with donation to the Salvation Army to make it work. I don’t think that was very effective since I still have her frequent threats ringing in my ears…

Comments are closed.