I think I need a maid

Yes, you read that correctly.  If not a maid, then someone to at least come in and cook for me.  I don’t know how single people living singly do it.  Last night I took out 4 bags of trash (kitchen, freezer, fridge, dining room table trash, bathroom and a few other odds and ends).  And I did 4 loads of laundry (I’ve discovered that I have waaaaaayyyyy too many items like towels, socks, underwear and sheets).  Cooked dinner.  Folded laundry and got to cross off 3 items from my list.  (I only have 1 left!  YEY!)  Whew!  ALL after working 9 hours.  Don’tcha feel sorry for me? 

Tonight I have grocery shopping to do and then I think I’ll be done for a bit.

I sure hope it was all worth it.

(Actually, I know it was all worth it – it is just a lot of work to do.  I guess the wise old saying “clean as you go” that Mom tried to drill into me as a child is finally making sense – after, what, 40 years?  Well I guess it is better late than never.  I actually like having things put way in their places…all nice and neat.  I even threw away some *stuff* that I had been saving for who knows what.  Yes, Mom, you read that correctly – I THREW AWAY SOME USELESS STUFF! *GASP* (not much, but some))

The other thing that I learned is that having fewer towels, socks, underwear and sheets makes for more frequent laundering, but it becomes a lot less overwhelming.  I had been of the mindset for a while (about 6 years in fact) that if I had 30 pairs of *unmentionables*, then I would only need to do laundry once a month.  This strategy worked well for quite a few years when I would gather all my washing and take it over to a friends house.  But now that I have the convenience of a washer and dryer, I haven’t changed my ways.  Well, no more.  I’m going to do laundry once a week.  Period.

So the North Shore Knit Out begins officially on Friday morning, when Marylin and I get up and make our way over to Kate’s house.  Kate is going to have a variety of food for us, including chili (one of my favorites) and I have the movies (Jane Austin makes for some great knitting entertainment).  But on Saturday and Sunday the Knit Out will be at my house.  Which means I gotta cook.  YEY!  I GET TO COOK!  I’m going to make my Mom’s spaghetti recipe from when I was a kid – the best stuff EVER! – and probably do some kind of something else for Sunday (I’m thinking soup, not sure yet).  And THEN I get to prepare for Thanksgiving.  Cornish Hens, here I come!

One thought on “I think I need a maid

  1. This is a few days late–I haven’t been on the computer since we’ve been back from our trip. I’m not so sure that ‘clean as you go’ is mine–seems like I remember one of your first jobs being at McDonald’s and how excited you were to have a job. I remember you coming home and telling us about their ‘clean as you go’ policy. But, going back further, I have ALWAYS tried to get you to clean up your room (it was 99% a losing battle) and keep it straight. Even when you FINALLY did clean it up, you always found money!! I always thought that in itself would be a great motivator, but alas, no. Not even when we cleaned out your Atlanta apartment and found a certified check for $400 (as well as a pickup truck full of bags of ‘usless stuff’) that would be an incentive–but alas, no. It is now very gratifying to hear that you now see the benefits of 1) lists 2)cleaning 3)having a routine, etc. It gets easier the more you do it. This was submitted with much love.

Comments are closed.