my world is returning to normal

Finally.  I’ll catch you up on my work project – you know, the one that has been driving me crazy – and then I’ll catch you up on my life.

The implementation of online registration is nearing an end.  Our first test group of 57 students went marginally well – the first student that tried to register couldn’t, of course, and one other student had problems, but other than  those two things seemed to go well.  But the real test came on Monday of this week as we opened up registration to 402 first year freshmen – at 7:00 AM.  My biggest fear was that the server would crash.  It didn’t. By 7:15 in the morning, just 15 minutes after web registration opened, 198 students had registered for at least one course.  That is nearly half the first year students.  In 15 minutes.  WOW!  The biggest hit the server took was at 7:10 in the morning and it only reached 65% of its processing capacity – p.l.e.n.t.y. of room for growth.  By the end of the day over 350 students had registered for at least one class online.  I can only say that I think this far exceeded our expectations.  And now that its over…I’m almost at a loss as to what to do.  All those projects for other departments that I’ve been putting off…well, they seem pale, unexciting and, frankly, insignificant (ooh – did I just say that out loud?).  I guess I’ll deal with it somehow.

In personal news, since I’ve amassed a huge amount of overtime (except that I don’t get paid overtime) (nor is overtime “computed” for me) (but I have it nonetheless), I’m going to take Friday the 19th off in order to participate in what is currently being called “The North Shore Knit Out”.  My friend who introduced me to Kate, Marylin, is coming from Maryland, for a knitting extravaganza of a weekend.  She’ll stay with me but I think we’ll be at Kate’s house for much of the time, knitting, eating, knitting, watching Jane Austin and, you guessed it, knitting.  *sigh* Oh the fun of it.  Seems like a little piece of heaven on Earth.  Can’t wait.

Except that the house isn’t ready for Marylin, so I guess I can wait.  I did 6 loads of laundry last weekend and tried to move the big green chair into the “office” but it got stuck in the hallway (ridiculous) so I had to move it back, so I’ll have to think of another plan for it.  Maybe I’ll move the big blue chair in there and the big green chair out onto the porch….I’ll have to think about that one.  And I need to clean up the dining room – if not for Marylin, then I’ll have to do it because….

I’m hosting Thanksgiving dinner!  YEY!  This is something that I’ve always wanted to do – as soon as I owned my own home.  And now that I do, I get to cook Thanksgiving dinner!  What is on the menu, you might be asking?  Here is what I have so far:

  • Cornish Game hens basted in a white wine sauce (a Brice family tradition) (and my most favorite thing ever) (EVER)
  • Wild rice with left over white wine sauce for the gravy
  • Fresh yeast rolls
  • Great-Grandmother’s Fresh Apple Cake (baked in a bundt pan with pecans in it) (yum, yum!)

Not sure about other side dishes – I’m going to let some of my very special guests think of what to bring, but I think it will be a lovely meal.

Mom, I’ll try to post my pictures tomorrow.

