I wish to thank…

… Jane for the honorable and prestegious award that she has to kindly given me: The Versatile Blogger Award.  Wow.  An award.  I don’t know what to say, except that I’m honored.  And now I feel guilty (but only a little) because I haven’t been blogging consistently for a while now.  I’m not sure why, my only excuse being that I feel completely overwhelmed by life right now.  I have things at the house that I need to be doing but feel nearly paralized at the thought of attempting to do them.  I have a few things at work that I’m working on.  I’m trying to keep straight all the personal stuff going on in my life (Dr. appts, bible study, baby gifts to make, Christmas gifts to make, sewing classes) but it is hard, man, I’ll tell you.  Very hard.

The sad thing is that I truly love writing this blog, and so this award has probably come at the right time to sort of spur me on to writing more consistently.  I am also moving into a new office (one that was offered to me a few years ago and is not vacant again) and I’m hoping that the move will spark a little creativity in my work.  The office has a window, which is good because it lets in more light, but is bad because the office is colder than mine, and anyone who knows me well knows that I am nearly ALWAYS cold.  But I’m also inheriting a table upon which I can place my water kettle (can’t live without my tea), and my coffee maker.  The table also hides the fridge pretty well too.

Now, on to the award.  It aparently has rules, so here it goes.

The Versatile Blogger Award Rules:

1) Thank and link back to the person that gave you the award.
2) Share seven things about yourself.
3) Pass the award to fifteen bloggers that you think deserve it.
4) Lastly, contact all of the bloggers that you’ve picked for the award.
I’ve done the first already (linking back to Jane’s blog), so here are 7 things about me.
  1. I spent the summer after my freshman year of college working at Disneyland (in California).  Awsome!
  2. I consider myself to be a “Southerner” and yet for most of my life I have not lived in the South.  I was born in Louisiana, went to college in Louisiana for 3.5 years and lived in Atlanta for 8 years.  But my first 20 and the last 9 (or so, this is not exact math after all), have been in non-Southern places.
  3. I am currently working on my 2nd Master’s degree.  Most people don’t know that I already have one.  🙂
  4. I’ve only been to 30 states and 4 countries.  But I think it is more than just about anyone else in my family.
  5. I’m in the process of joining DAR.  Daughters of the American Revolution.  Which means, of course, that at least one “branch” of my family has been here since the 1770’s.
  6. I have a small collection of books in Russian.  I can no longer speak, read or write Russian (having only studied it for 2 semesters in college, like, some 20 years ago….) and yet I still hang on to them.
  7. Speaking of Russian, I once devised a plot to over throw the Communist Russian government when I was 12 years old.  It was a great plan, you should ask me about it some time.
Okay, so here is the hard part.  I have to choose 15 bloggers to pass this award on to.  This is going to be tough.
____
{I took a 4 day break here… and have to regroup my thinking – hang on for a moment…}
  1. Right of the bat I am going to give this to Kim.  She started a blog, like, yesterday (literally), but I can already tell that it is going to be good.
  2. Michelle is someone that went to Trinity with me and I love the way she writes (although I’ve never told her…so SURPRISE, I read your blog!)
  3. Wayne also was a student at Trinity (whose wife, I might add, is also named Tonja. (with the “j” and all)…how strange is that?) and although he hasn’t written in his blog for a while, he deserves this award.
  4. Wendy is a Christian author who wrote a very good book called Practical Theology for Women.  Her blog is equally provocative.
  5. …gee…this is only 4?  and I have to get to 15? hm…..let me think….
  6. Food in Jars is a blog about canning…the whole process – from picking the right foods to recipes and even full picture tutorials on how-to.  A must read for anyone interested in canning.  Or thinking about canning.  Or anyone who has not clue about canning but like to look at pictures of food.
  7. Choosing Volunteer Simplicy is also another well-written blog that gives a great perspective of a family who has basically changed their lifestyle and now live simply and frugally.  Something that I totally admire.
  8. I have another friend (Melissa) whose family is over in Scotland (the land of my ancestors) because her husband is pursuing a Ph.D. at Aberdeen.  It is mostly a blog about family and living far away from everyone else, but I find it interesting hearing about all the cultural challenges that they face.
  9. Then there is Kate.  She has a blog readership of 3, I think, but she tries.  She also puts up with me, which says a lot about her. 
  10. …(me again)…I think all the other blogs I read are knitting ones….

So now that this blog is way long…I think I will save the rest for another day.

Toodle-oo!

One thought on “I wish to thank…

  1. Congratulations on your award! After the heads up on the upcoming new entry, I spent all of last week checking for it! Alas, it did not appear until the day that I did not check! Are you sure that your ancestry is Scottish!

Comments are closed.