my Dad taught me how

Okay, not really.  But I would like to think this, and so would he, so I’ll label this as such.  I bet you are now wondering what in the world I’m talking about.  Let me ‘splain.  My Dad has many talents.  Reading and following instructions are not always one of them.  I can remember a time when he purchased a new lawn mower and gave me the instructions to read so that I could tell him how to assemble it.  Then there was the time when he couldn’t figure out how to put the screen door on our newly installed sliding glass doors – and I did.  One year for Christmas my parents gave me a 10-speed bicycle – in a box.  Learning to follow instructions for how to put things together sort of fell my way – by default.  I guess you could say that it was something that my dad taught me impassively.

All of this is the preface to my purchase of a lawn mower on Saturday.  I assembled it on Sunday and let’s just say it was a little bit of a chore.  I had to go to Ace to purchase a socket big enough for the wheel bolts, but after that things went smoothly.  Until I went to start up the engine.  I pulled quite a few times on the pulley thing but the engine just didn’t whirl (I might also add here that I very nearly ripped my arm off trying to pull it) before I figured out that I needed to hold in the blade control thingie at the top of the handle and then the engine fired up right away. 

So now I have a newly mowed lawn and that feels really good.

I also had a chance to knit some yesterday after Kate invited me over and her husband fed me.  I haven’t knitted in quite a while, so it felt really good.  I’m going to start a new pair of socks to take with me for the conference in a few weeks.  I’ll probably start on them this Friday at Joanna’s house.

