discovering the house that is mine (or almost mine)

If you’ve been on Facebook in the last few days you will have undoubtedly seen my outright pleas for help in doing some painting.  It appears that one FHA regulation is that there can be no peeling paint on the outside of the house.  Luckily, my house has siding, but the sills and trim are all painted wood…and all were in the peeling category of things not to have on the outside of one’s house.  As of this moment (Saturday morning), the sides and back of the house are nearing ready for primer.  We made the executive decision yesterday to do prime only for the inspection and then come back and paint – hopefully this will take the stress out of getting everything done by Wednesday, which it has, to a degree.

One of the interesting things that has come about because of this whole incident is getting to know my neighbor, Shelly (or Sharon, or something that starts with a SH). She has let me borrow her ladder (yey!) and has offered to mow my front yard (yey! again).  She has also been telling me about some of the plant vegetation that is growing up around my house.  I have Lily of the Valley growing on the north side, completely up and down the whole side of the house.  I also have a few hostas in the back and one in the front and Shelly said that they are good and hardy plants that can easily be moved.

Now Sarah, the current owner of the house, who graciously came over yesterday and helped with the scraping, pointed out a few more things to me.  She thinks there are crocus’ in the front, there are some Hollyhock in the back along the fence and peonies in the back next to the house (just under the pantry window).  There is also a huge (taller than me) rose bush with yellow roses growing right next to the peonies.  And, you’ve already seen the tulips.  I can’t wait to see all of this when it blooms…it is like having my own Discovery channel!

