and the tulips are…

RED!  I have RED TULIPS growing alongside my house!

Okay, so pardon the peeling paint…at least the blue is in nice contrast to the red and green!  Here is the whole row…you can see a few more about to open.

Yey for the red tulips!  Now if only I knew what this mess was I’d be all set:

(click to embiggen…)

Now, on to more knitterly stuff.  I mentioned yesterday that I am constantly amazed at how people knit – the technique that they use.  Generally there are two methods for knitting: picking and throwing.  Me, I’m a thrower, but only because that was how I was taught.  I can do some picking, but it is still a very slow process for me.  Here is me throwing: notice how the “working yarn” is held in my right hand?  In the throwing technique, the right hand then has to leave the needle, loop the yarn around the right needle and then return to grasp it again to finish the stitch.

In the pick technique, the working yarn is held in the left hand and the right hand is then free to navigate the stitch entirely, even to “pick up” the working yarn to draw it through to compete the loop.  Like this (sorry for the blurriness, it is quite a challenge to take a photograph of yourself knitting…):

Generally, in both techniques, I’ve noticed that both hands are palms down. 

Enter Jane.  One of the amazing things about how she knits is the speed with which she knits.  I’m thinking it is in part because she holds her right needle like this:

Notice that she holds the right needle like you would a pencil.  I can imagine that this would give you far more dexterity in forming your stitches.  Notice too that she uses the throwing method instead of the picking method.  (Now, I do realize that these are my hands, but while I’m writing this I’m imagining that they are Jane’s, except that her hands are probably nicer than mine.) 

Interesting.

I’ve not seen anyone hold the needles this way before and even though I tried it for a brief time in order to demonstrate it for you, it was a little weird, but I can see that it would have its usefulness in the arena of lace knitting where you have to do increases (yarn overs) and decreases (knit 2 together or pass one, knit one, pass the first stitch back over).  I think I may have to practice this one.

(and Jane, I’m not picking on you, just making a simple observation.)

2 thoughts on “and the tulips are…

  1. Maybe we should make a video of my knitting method. I have no idea what it’s called – presumably it was how my Gran knitted because she taught me. We could do basic lace stitches using some worsted yarn and bigger needles, for clarity.

    The “mess” is daylilies (yay!) and possibly variegated Bishop’s Weed, although I’d have to have a closer look.

    The tulips are extremely pretty! You’re so lucky you can grow them. If I planted tulips the deer would all be standing there cheering.

Comments are closed.