Tulips, Easter Eggs and Marilyn Monroe

 I had a very short but sweet trip home last weekend.  My sister has decided to join the Catholic church and had been taking classes to learn what Catholicism is all about, all of which culminated in her baptism last Saturday evening.  I felt that this was an important event for her and so wanted to be there to support her.  I flew in late on Friday night, went straight to bed and then the weekend began.  Kris picked me up at 8, we got breakfast to go, went to her church where her classmates were required to attend a prayer meeting and then a final meeting of sorts for their class.  She wanted me to go so that I would know where to sit with the family, but mostly I think she just wanted me to be a small part of her experience exploring the Catholic faith.  We then went to lunch with some of her class mates and enjoyed some really, really good salads.  And then..it was off to the races…we had to go to a bookstore to pick up a gift for someone, the mall to pick up a gift for someone, the beauty shop to get our pedicure, the ham store to pick up the ham for Easter Sunday, and the bakery to pick up a bread bunny thing. (Don’t ask.)  Then we both had to get a nap in before dinner with the entire family (Jude’s parents were also visiting for the event).  Then Kris had to leave and we left shortly after to go to the church.  The Easter Vigil Mass starts at 9PM and it ended just (and I mean JUST) before Midnight.  Then it was home to bed so that we could get up and go Easter egg hunting with the girls.

But wait…there is more.  This was Gabby’s first real Easter “hunting” eggs and she didn’t quite get the whole idea.  She would find an egg in the grass and Kris would say, “Put it in the basket, Gabby”, at which time she would throw the egg into the basket.  It is a good thing that the eggs were hard boiled, because Kris would have had a huge mess on her hands otherwise.  Her is a picture I caught mid-throw:

Now my other niece, Olivia, did a good job hunting for eggs, but we certainly had to prompt her as to where to look, all without giving away the fact that it was Jude who hid the eggs and not the Easter Bunny.  Not an easy task, I tell you.  But Olivia is a complete ham and a performer, if ever I’ve met one.  She absolutely CRAVES attention and already, at the ripe age of 5, is totally infatuated with Hannah Montana and the stage and rock-n-roll.  Here is a picture of her posing like Marilyn Monroe while showing off her skull tattoo while dressed in an Easter dress:

 

Like I said: complete ham.  But this is my favorite picture from the weekend.  Kris, Olivia and Gabby together.

As to other news, I have some flowers along side my house that are about to bloom…tulips!  One of my favorite flowers!  And i didn’t even have to do a thing!  That’s the best part.  After the last snow melt I discovered these green things growing next to the house…and someone wisely said that they were tulips..and lo and behold they are! 

Look how many I have…

…all the way down the side of the house.

2 thoughts on “Tulips, Easter Eggs and Marilyn Monroe

  1. I happened to be on site exploring the new, improved blog when this entry just poped up! That was a first! Remember I want a hard copy of Gabby throwing the egg and the one of the 3 of them is great. See you in 2 weeks.

  2. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor had been just preparing to accomplish some exploration about this. We obtained a seize a book from our local library but I feel I learned far more from this submit. I am extremely glad to view this kind of great data getting shared freely out there.

Comments are closed.