running out of gas

Those of you who know me well know how absolutely stressed I get at the end of a semester.  Papers and finals are tough on me.  This semester is no different.  Not only do I have to stay on top of my greek class (learning a language requires constant attention), but I had a paper due in my other class that I didn’t start until this last weekend.  Add to all of this the move into a house and you can well imagine how absolutely exhausted I am. 

So last night, after working on my paper from 4-11 PM, I went home and crashed.  I simply ran. out. of. gas.  The sleep was extremely welcome because I also happen to be prone to insomnia when in a highly stressed out state.  I only slept for 7.5 hours, but they were pure bliss.  I woke up this morning feeling very refreshed and energized (and relieved to discover that my trash was actually picked up, but that is another story).

I was also relieved to get home to a warm house last night, as the overnight low was something like -5463125 degrees.  That octopus really knows how to keep a house warm.  I also think that Camille has been very happy to have her own house, a place that will protect her from the extreme cold, wind and snow.  As I was sitting in my car this morning warming her up a little she started making some wierd noises.  I assumed they were just protest to the -522138 degrees outside and thought nothing more.

So on my way to work I called my dad and was talking with him when Camille just. died.  At a stop sign.  With cars behind me.  So I hung up with dad and started to panick about Camille.  Now realistically, she is 17 years old, which has got to be something like 261 human years, so you know her time is coming.  I’ve been aware of this for quite some time, but as she doesn’t seem to show too many signs of slowing down, I just keep on chugging away with her.  Luckily she started right back up and I was able to go on my way.

So I called my dad back and his first question: “Did you run out of gas?”  To which I thought: “Gas?  HOLY (*&(*^&%!  Gas!” 

Yes.  I ran. out. of. gas.

Camille’s tank holds 16 gallons – I put in 16.3.  Thank goodness that I was able to make it to a gas station before she completely ran out, because walking to a gas station in    -54324 degrees with the wind howling would not have been fun.

4 thoughts on “running out of gas

  1. TinkerBell says:

    Yes, people who’ve never lived there probably think you’re making up that temperature, but some of us know better. Glad you were spared! Marylin

  2. K1Frog2 says:

    Sounds like something I would do. Glad you are okay. Temps in the 40’s by Monday, according to the weather guy. We are all looking foward to it, I’m sure. My walk this morning was COLD.

  3. Tonja says:

    Yeah, I’m a little concerned with the heating bill, quite honestly. I hope to not die of a heart attack. I need to come up with some type of heating/cooling schedule to maximize time when I am away and time that I’m at home. But that’s for another day!

Comments are closed.