random Friday

I cast on a new pair of socks last night (while studying Greek, of course).  I’ve decided to knit a really comfy and thick pair of slouchy house socks, so I’m using bulky weight yarn and size 13 needles.  Judging by how far I got last night, I should be done in about 3-4 weeks.

I need to pick up the wedding present for Julie  (and Jason) again.  Their first anniversary is in April, and while that is still 5 months away, I’m thinking I just might make it.  I’m roughly 70% done, so the rest should be a breeze.

I believe that I just might be moving into my house on Nov. 23, just in time for Thanksgiving.  This all depends on the contract and what the lawyers say about the situation, but I’m feeling good about it right now.  I just have to keep myself in check and do nothing to the house until it officially becomes m-i-n-e.  (I like saying that 😉

I have also progressed on my mittens.  All I have left are the thumbs, which should be no problem – I just need to buy size 8 DPN’s.  I may do that tomorrow.  (In between studying for Greek and writing my paper for my Polity class, of course – nothing, not even knitting, should interrupt studying.  Unfortunately.)

Kate and I took a sweater class a few days ago and it was awsome.  Mindy walked us through the numerous possibilities of style, hems and shaping and how to calculate proportions for knitting using the Elizabeth Zimmerman (aka EZ) percentage system.  I think I’m going to try this out on a sweater for Olivia.  I already have the yarn for a sweater for her, but instead of using a pattern, I think I’ll just design my own and use EZ’s method.  This way I can practice on something small before I make the commitment for something large(er) for me.

On a completely different note, I have a friend that adopted a dog last weekend.  This was a big commitment for him, but we all thought that it would be good for him.  However, things have taken a turn for the worse, I’m afraid.  Aparently, when he adopted this dog from a rescue agency, the lied to him about the dog’s age.  Part of the commitment that this place demands is that the new owner take the dog to a vet during the first week of ownership, something that he did yesterday.  Come to find out, the dog is actually much, much older than what my friend was told, and the vet felt that the dog had about a 50/50 chance of actually learning how to be house trained, which is, of course, bad news for my friend.  The sad part is that when he called to complain (rant, really) to the agency about their “practices” and what the vet had said, they decided to come and retrieve the dog from my friend – which was really, really wierd.  Can you imagine adopting a dog, getting attached to it and then having the agency come and rip it out of your home?  I’m not going to mention the agency here, but friends, be careful and check the place out completely, prior to adopting any animals.

Okay, enough random things today.  Toodles!

2 thoughts on “random Friday

Comments are closed.