excuses and a mystery solved

I have told many people before that I simply don’t take tests well.  This is because I can talk myself into and out of anything – including correct answers.  This, my friends, is not a good skill to have.  Case in point: I should have gone swimming today…but instead I came up with some excuses (the ability to talk myself out of anything – including the right thing to do…).  Here they are:

  1. I left my coat at church yesterday, and while it is warm enough outside to not have to wear it, I felt that going swimming and then making the journey back to my office without said coat would give me a cold.  Never mind the fact that I would be totally dry and have dry hair.
  2. I need a towel and I didn’t want to take one of Dawn’s towels because you never know what might happen to it.  Her towels might be adverse to chlorine and develop holes.
  3. I feel that I need to have a complete set of shampoo/conditioner/soap for the locker room and don’t have the money this week to purchase a new set of these items.  Simply carrying the set that I do have back and forth this week is simply out of the question.
  4. I forgot to cut the tags out of my new swimsuit.

I could think of more but then you would probably feel that I was crazy, so it is best to leave the list at this.  I’ll make plans to go on Wednesday.  Hopefully.

As for the mystery solved, it has to do with my car.  Camille, my car, is seventeen years old this year, which is something like 88.2 human years, which means that she is quite old.  She still runs well, which is good for me because I don’t think I can afford a new car for at least a few more years.  However, with old age comes things not working.  For example, the dome light in the car, you know, the one that comes on when you open the door, which is particularly helpful at night so that you can see things inside the car, only comes on about 2 times a year – just often enough to let me know that there was originally a dome light in the car.  This hasn’t concerned me much because I can compensate by parking near/under street lights.

Well, on Saturday I did something unusual:  I took Camille to a car wash and I vacuumed her out.  Sadly this is not something that I do on a regular basis.  And I had her oil changed (which is something that I do on a regular basis, Dad).  And I was all proud of myself for taking care of my elderly car.  Then, on Sunday morning, as I was driving to church, I started hearing a tick.  It didn’t hear it when I stopped, or even when I was breaking, only as I was accelerating or maintaining speed.  It continued after church as well.  So I started to panic, as I do with all of Camille’s new ticks, shakes and noises.  Did the oil guys forget to plug something?  Did the vacuum suck up a cable or something?  Is she objecting to being clean?

Well, I had to make the trek up to the Milwaukee airport (which, should any of you ever need to fly into/out of the Chicago area, this is an airport that I highly recommend!) to pick up Steve as a favor to Dawn, giving me ample time to ponder the new Camille noise and panic.  Until I looked down at my dashboard.  You see, one of the things that has stopped working is my gas gauge, which honestly hasn’t been that big of a deal.  In the summer I can drive 300 miles and still have a quarter of a tank of gas left and in the winter, I can go 250 miles and have a quarter tank left.  Which only means that I have to keep track of my mileage in between fill ups.  Easy enough to do, especially when my car comes equipped with a trip-ticker – that little mileage thing that you can set – ostensibly for purposes such as this one.  The noise?  The trip-ticker was stuck at 7 miles.  🙂  Reset it once and now it works fine.  I like cheap fixes.  I really do.

One thought on “excuses and a mystery solved

Comments are closed.