Today is Friday

And a very welcome Friday at that.  Here’s whats been happening in my life.  The Farmhouse offer is in full stall mode – meaning that the bank has had the offer for 8 weeks as of yesterday and we have not heard a word from them.  So, with that in mind, and with the deadline for the first time home buyers credit quick approaching, we have decided to pull my offer and make an offer on another house – this time one that is not a short sale.  How do I feel about this?  I’m not sure yet.  The Farmhouse was really a cute little house, but honestly, probably more than I should have for my first house.  The ELH house (acronym for Eight Legged House – which is in itself an nickname for the Octopus heater that is in the basement and is in fact a nickname for what is formally known as a Gravity Furnace), is a one story, 2-bedroom house that would actually be quite perfect for me.  It has 950 square feet, a kitchen, dining room, living room, one bathroom and a full basement that is partially finished, clean and dry.  All-in-all it is a cute house. 

Also, I haven’t posted anything in the last 2 weeks because Greek is kicking my but.  Totally.  Now, I know that languages are a challenge,  Hebrew was challenging enough, but I didn’t have to memorize sets of noun endings in Hebrew… in Greek there are SETS of noun endings.  Which means that I’m really not looking forward to getting to verbs, since verbs are traditionally much, much harder to learn.  Resistence aside, I am learning some things, and they are, perhaps, useful, so I will continue to persist in this class.  Just know that should an inordinate amount of time pass between posts, this is why.

On another note, I did something different yesterday.  I bought contacts.  !  I know!  Fabulous, eh?  This is the third time that I’ve attempted to wear contacts in my life, the other two times were, lets just say unsuccessful.  But I am hopeful that this time will be different.  My only eye defect is astigmatism, which means that my eye is shaped wrong and thus everything is, well, fuzzy.  (Don’t panic – if you’ve ever ridden with me in my car and can clearly remember that I wasn’t wearing my glasses – don’t worry – my eyes are not TOO bad, I just can’t read with them.  So unless you feel that your life was in dire danger, you have nothing to worry about.)  These new lenses are 2-week disposables and I’m hoping that this means they will be more “wet” and comfortable.  I just hope that I can learn to put them in in under 15 minutes, which is what it took me today.  Five minutes for the left eye – then I gave up.  Eight minutes for the right eye (and a full drop on the floor, but I washed it well before trying again) and then another 3 or so minutes for the left eye again.  I think that the left eye just wanted the right to go first, a note that I will make tomorrow morning when I attempt this again.

Finally, here is my Friday Tip:  go watch some Glee.  It is hilarious and the music is good.

One thought on “Today is Friday

  1. K1Frog2 says:

    It’s good to see you posting again! You’ll be putting those contacts in one-handed soon enough. It just takes practice-kind of like purling, the best way to learn is to just do it.

Comments are closed.