Hi. My name is Tonja…

and I’m a FarmTown-aholic.  It began about a month ago.  A simple little Facebook game – one that I could share with some friends.  But then it became too much for me.  The pressure to expand, to earn points, to work on other people’s farms – has become too much.  I started playing in the morning before work, then started playing during my lunch hour (except for Tuesdays, my knitting days, because nothing – not even FarmTown can usurp knitting….yet) and this week expanded to after work as well.  Last night I hit rock bottom.  I planted a crop that peaked at 6 PM and then had a 4 hour harvesting time….and I forgot to harvest…..until after 10 when I went to bed.  I didn’t even think twice: I got up, out of bed, and harvested my grapes field (I did manage to harvest them on time, thankfully).  The same nearly happened tonight.  I’m out of control and I don’t know how to stop.

I have to also admit that I’ve even had dreams (for real) about how inadequate my farm is compared to some of my friends.  This may be a separate issue – feelings of farm inadequacy – but I fear that it is all related somehow.  Not sure how to overcome this one either.

Anyway, thank you for listening.  Here is a picture of my lovely farm.  I’ve hidden all the trees…but you get the idea.

farmtown20090820

5 thoughts on “Hi. My name is Tonja…

  1. Do you think this is indicative of a longing to get back to a simpler life, one which is driven by the seasons of the natural world and where your choices are immediate and seemingly uncomplicated – harvest now or later? Plant potatoes or beans?

    Or are you farm-building because you’re in home-building limbo? Either way, I suspect that this addiction will come to a natural end when you get a house. And then I’m hoping to get you addicted to growing real things. A garden is a lovesome thing, God wot.

  2. Mom says:

    Ever hear of the DELETE button??? Just undo it all and you can always pick it up later–if you ever have any free time after becoming a homeowner!

  3. Tonja (author) says:

    Jane, I have never before had a longing to “get back to a simpler life”. I grew up in a city, I’ve almost always lived in/near a city and I consider my self a city girl. Perhaps not a downtown Chicago kind, but city none-the-less. I started the game with the idea that I was in “training” for a real garden, which I do intend on having (non-green thumb aside).

    Mom, delete – *GASP*? What is this delete thing about? I’ve worked HARD to get my farm this far…I can’t imagine deleting it now….not an option. I could, however, just not plan anything and leave it alone for a while, but this is exactly my dilemma – I’m addicted to it. Can’t stop. *sigh* Oh my life.

Comments are closed.