Hi. My name is Tonja…

and I’m a FarmTown-aholic.  It began about a month ago.  A simple little Facebook game – one that I could share with some friends.  But then it became too much for me.  The pressure to expand, to earn points, to work on other people’s farms – has become too much.  I started playing in the morning before work, then started playing during my lunch hour (except for Tuesdays, my knitting days, because nothing – not even FarmTown can usurp knitting….yet) and this week expanded to after work as well.  Last night I hit rock bottom.  I planted a crop that peaked at 6 PM and then had a 4 hour harvesting time….and I forgot to harvest…..until after 10 when I went to bed.  I didn’t even think twice: I got up, out of bed, and harvested my grapes field (I did manage to harvest them on time, thankfully).  The same nearly happened tonight.  I’m out of control and I don’t know how to stop.

I have to also admit that I’ve even had dreams (for real) about how inadequate my farm is compared to some of my friends.  This may be a separate issue – feelings of farm inadequacy – but I fear that it is all related somehow.  Not sure how to overcome this one either.

Anyway, thank you for listening.  Here is a picture of my lovely farm.  I’ve hidden all the trees…but you get the idea.

farmtown20090820

