moving forward with fear and trepidation

I am a mere 14 hours away from the biggest thing I’ve ever done in my life: make an offer on a house.  MAKE AN OFFER ON A HOUSE. (I had to say it twice just to make sure that you understand the enormity of what is about to happen.)  I actually have one person to thank for this: my Dad.  He has given me advice and encouraged me in this endeavor and I don’t think I would have the “guts” to take this step without him.  He has patiently spent hours of research for me on mundane things like how Lake County assesses property taxes, he has had fun google earthing all the potential neighborhoods to make sure they “feel” right, and has given me endless advice as to budgeting and financing. 

Budgeting is an area in my life that I have trouble with.  Actually, trouble is not the correct word: I don’t budget, therefore it is no trouble.  This has also been the area in my life to which my Dad has had the most concern, and probably rightly so.  So for the last few months, I have been reading a book by Dave Ramesy and I have dutifully been going through the motions following his advice.  The first step is to put $1,000 into savings.  I did this last month (June).  Good thing, because after paying an exorbitant price to have movers move all of my belongings into storage, I don’t have too much money in my checking account.  Imagine my extreme pleasure when my real estate agent says to me at 4:30 – “bring a check with you for $1,000 tomorrow (at 8:30) so that we can make the formal offer on the house”.  Had I not been paying attention to my most honorable father, I would not have that money sitting there waiting for an emergency.  Like this one. 

I love you, Dad.  Thank you for your enless patience, priceless advice and unconditional love.  I couldn’t have gotten this far without you.

