monday's vortex

I knew as soon as I awoke this morning that today was going to be strange.  First, the electricity went off last night so I had to get up at around 1:30 AM and reset my clock and I forgot to reset the alarm.  Which is okay ’cause I always wake up early.  Then I forgot to put conditioner it my hair and I stood there for a full minute trying to remember the shower sequence: shampoo, rinse, conditioner, rinse, soap, rinse, wrap hair, dry off, get out of shower.  As you can imagine, forgetting step 3 does not bode well for steps 4-9.  Then in an effort of attempting to make life easy, I placed my LFC ID card in the very front pocket of my purse, so that all I would have to do is hold it up to get into the building.  Except that when I held up my purse there was nothing.  No *beep* and no unlocking of doors.  Sensing that this was probably a left over from the power outage I manually unlocked the door and opened it.  And the siren went off.  Apparently it was working.  So I scrounged through my purse and guess what?  I had attempted to open the door with my Trinity ID and not my LFC ID.  No Wonder!

So then things are going merily along and I decided to pull out my laptop so that I can help my Dad do some troubleshooting with his computer.  I installed the windows updates and when the computer rebooted…nothing.  Just a series of beeps.  After tinkering with it I took it to the Helpdesk dudes and Kevin informed me that it was an HP issue to which there was a solution.  So I called HP support.  Can I just say AAAARRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGG!  First the guy wanted to charge me when I could plainly read on their webiste that this was a known problem and they had graciously extended the warranty and therefor should be FREE!  Then I had to sit though about an hour and a half of him walking me though an update that didn’t work just so he could tell me that I need to send my laptop in.  DUH!

Then, my boss was having some wierd Exchange07 issues with a student’s mailbox.  (Which of course is her issue and not mine, but since she sits across the hall I’m thinking that something was seeping from my office to hers,  shhh, please don’t tell her it was me).

And now…AND NOW…it is supposed to SNOW tonight.  When, oh when, will this day end and I can wake up and be in SPRING?

*****UPDATED TO ADD THE FOLLOWING:
And finally, as I was saving this draft, the server on which my blog is hosted had a hiccup.  And I lost half the post.
 
*****BACK TO THE REGULAR POST

So just to ensure that SOMETHING good will happen today, my bible software vendor (whom I would LOVE to work for someday, btw) posted a link that they are giving away books…and all I have to do is post a postback on my site.  So, just to annoy all of you, I will probably do a postback EVERY DAY until the contest has ended.  So here it goes:

Bible Study Magazine and Eternal Perspective Ministries are giving away 40 copies of Randy Alcorn’s book, Heaven. Not only that, but they’re also giving away five subscriptions to Bible Study Magazine and a copy of their Bible Study Library software! Enter to win on the Bible Study Magazine Randy Alcorn page, then take a look at all the cool tools they have to take your Bible study to the next level!

